Road to Adventure

For years, I have dreamed of the future and moving and taking steps toward my goals of impacting the world through my career and my community, no matter where that might be. Ad here I am, a week away from moving across the country to live in a city I fell in love with in 2007. This is what I have been dreaming about. It seems like this is a beginning to the life I desire. And I am…terrified. Of course, I’m excited and ready to start something new, but it is scary. As I take pictures down and try to decide what to take with me in my little car, panic makes my heart beat faster. Doubts assault me…maybe I should stay here or go someplace closer or wait just a bit longer. Am I making the right choice? What if I can’t get a job and run out of money? What if I don’t get accepted into a Master’s program? Should I really be leaving my family? After all, we have experienced good and bad, tears and laughter, bad grades and graduations, different churches, car troubles, and almost every week of our lives together. Did I do everything I could for them while I was here? I know I didn’t cherish our time enough. I’m not ready; surely I have made the wrong decision. Needing peace and reassurance, I think a prayer that is as jumbled as my heart. It is terrifying and I don’t know what the future holds, but I am not doing it alone because the Lord is my Shepherd. I trust in the Lord and acknowledge Him and know He will make my path straight (Proverbs 3:5-6). It is time and this is the right decision. Change is never easy and almost always uncomfortable, but after my prayer my first thought included a quote from Jillian Michaels that says, “Get comfortable with being uncomfortable.” Now she is speaking in context of exercise, but the Holy Spirit brought it to my attention for a different purpose. Not long ago, I listened to a message from the church I will soon be a part of and the pastor said, “To choose Christ is to choose adventure and vice versa.” Excitement stirred in my heart in response to the statement and I yearn to always choose Jesus. With adventure, you never know what the future might bring or how things will look, but you never have to doubt that God has a plan. Choosing adventure is going to be uncomfortable because it is risk.

Deuteronomy 31:6 “Be strong. Take courage. Don’t be intimidated. Don’t give them a second thought because God, your God, is striding ahead of you. He’s right there with you. He won’t let you down; He won’t leave you.”

I choose Jesus. I choose adventure.

One comment on “Road to Adventure

  1. Yes dear child “Plans to prosper you, protect you, to give you Hope in your future!”

    He just wants to be with you where you go!!

    Fly dear friend… But keep blogging! Your writing gives me Hope!!

    Love, Grace, Peace and Presence

Leave a Reply

